Guest Designer for Rita Barakat 2

Die Cuts.jpg

I was able to take the opportunity to be a Guest Designer for Rita Barakat.  To create something for Rita I was sent seven of her die cuts to use in a project.  For this project Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz called to me and I came up with the following mixed media project.

1 Background.jpg

I started by creating the background.  I added texture by glueing paper doilies onto my page.  Then I added colour using Tim Holtz’s Distress Stains.  The hills were roughly defined with Caran D’Ache Neocolour II crayons.  Of course it can’t a Wizard of Oz scene without the yellow brick road – this was made with gold washing tape.

2 Dorothy.jpg

I then concentrated on Rita Barakat Dorothy Die Cut by enhancing some of her features.  I coloured her hair a little more.  Added a bit of fluorescent yellow to the areas that were already yellow.  And of course I had to try to make her red shoes stand out some more.

3 Cut.jpg

When I started this page I envisioned Dorothy walking along the yellow brick road (which is unusual in itself because I don’t usually start with a plan).  To make Dorothy “walk”, I cut a slit into my page.  Glued a paddle pop stick onto the back of the page and added some ribbon.  While having Dorothy on the front of the page and the paddle pop and ribbon on the back, I am able to pull the ribbon and make Dorothy “walk” along the road.

Final.jpg

This is what the page looked like when I was finished.  To see a time lapse video of the creation of this page and to watch Dorothy “walk” go to my youtube channel to watch here.

I hope you enjoyed this.

Selena


Leave a comment