Colour Challenge for Off The Rails Scrapbooking

Final.jpg

As a Guest Designer for Off the Rails Scrapbooking I took inspiration from the September 2019 moodboard to inspire an art journal page.

42946607_10214466467550432_8354715176116682752_n.jpg

I loved the colour from the above moodboard  so decided that I was going to definitely incorporate that.  The other part that kept grabbing my attention was the eye.  So I put together the colours and the black and white eye and came up with my art journal page.  Stay with me while I take you through the steps to create this page.

Collage.jpg

 

 

I began by collecting some bright, colourful, fun pieces to use as collage in the background.  I glued them on with Liquitex Gel Medium.  This is a great way to use up a lot of those scrap pieces that we all have lying around and we never use.

Colour with Paint.jpg

 

 

Then I chose a few colours from the collage and applied some paint to try to make it a little bit more cohesive.  I used Ceramcoats Acrylic Paint in 9 different colours and randomly applied it with a paintbrush.  I left this to dry.

Doodle with pens.jpg

 

 

Then I grabbed some of my pens in similar colours to what I had already used and started doodling.  I would start doodling on colours with the similar colour to my pen and then let it overlap onto colours next to it.

Face.jpg

 

 

The last part was creating the face.  I used an Inktense pencil, activated it with water and applied a thin layer of gel medium over the top just to make sure that it stayed put for the next few layers.  A light skin colour acrylic paint was applied to where the lighter areas would be.  I repeated these steps until I was happy.  Lastly I used the Colour Blast White Heavy Gesso to add in the white highlights.  I love how part of the background peeks through her face.

Details2.jpg

 

I hope you enjoyed this and give it a try or look at a moodboard and see how that can inspire your work.

To watch the video on my YouTube channel, Selena Stevens Art, click here.

Til next time

Selena


Leave a comment